Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Study programme

The Course

Europe has long since become a “Europe of Knowledge“. Without knowledge about the political, legal and economic bases of the European Union, a “national” or “European” career can hardly be considered. International and European institutions, and even law firms and large companies increasingly expect their staff to be familiar with principles and issues governing the EU. For young people starting their careers, this not only means that they need to add a European dimension to their own academic discipline, and continuously transcend and expand the limitations of their field of expertise, in order to be - and remain - able to compete at European level.

The postgraduate course in European Studies is jointly offered by the Freie Universität Berlin and the Technische Universität Berlin. Over the course of a year this compact postgraduate course provides valuable insights into European issues and prepares the students for working with these issues in practice. The interdisciplinary approach equips students with knowledge in the following areas:

  • The EU as a legal community
  • The EU as an economic community
  • The EU as a political community
  • Historical, cultural and social foundations of European Integration


International and Interdisciplinary Approach

Every year, up to 25 fellows are selected from the pool of highly qualified applicants from all over the world. They are taught by leading experts in law, economics and social sciences from Berlin’s renowned universities, as well as by high-level academics and practitioners from Germany and abroad. The classes are held in English. Upon successful completion of the course, 60 credit points under the European Framework are attributed. Through its international and interdisciplinary approach, the course contributes to there being more excellently trained young professionals in international organisations.


Practical Relevance

  • Internships in regional and national ministries, EU Institutions, German embassies or large companies give the fellows the opportunity to experience relevance, implementation and impact of European issues in a daily basis and to discover and explore interesting areas for their future careers.
  • Seminars with practitioners from the European Commission and other international and European bodies and institutions
  • Presentations by academics and practitioners on current topics related to European Integration
  • A trip to the EU Institutions in Brussels and Luxemburg

Location: Berlin

Berlin, capital of Germany and one of the main stages for political and cultural activity is a connecting point between Eastern, Western and Central Europe and as such a particularly attractive location for this course. Specific benefits are

  • Opportunities for further training and access to a variety of scientific and cultural networks
  • Access to a broad range of libraries and documentation centres
  • The presence of:
  • Bundestag (lower house), Bundesrat (upper house) and other governmental institutions
  • German Federal Office
  • Representation of the European Commission
  • National and international NGOs
  • High-level associations of economic, scientific and cultural stakeholders
  • Over 150 international diplomatic missions

identity_europawissenschaften

Programminhalte

Der Studiengang Europawissenschaften (M.E.S. European Studies)

Europa ist schon längst ein „Europa des Wissens“ geworden. Ohne Kenntnisse über die politischen, rechtlichen und wirtschaftlichen Grundlagen der Europäischen Union ist weder eine „nationale“ noch eine „europäische Karriere“ Erfolg versprechend anzustreben. Internationale und europäische Institutionen, aber auch große Anwaltskanzleien und Unternehmen erwarten von ihrem Personal zunehmend Europakompetenz. Und das heißt für Berufseinsteiger nicht nur, dass sie sich im eigenen Fach „europäisch“ qualifizieren müssen, sondern auch, dass sie sich Kenntnisse über das eigene Fach hinaus aneignen müssen, um im europäischen Wettbewerb erfolgreich bestehen zu können.

Der Postgraduierten-Studiengang Europawissenschaften wird gemeinsam von der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin als kompakter Aufbaustudiengang angeboten, der innerhalb eines Jahres einen vertieften Einblick in Kerndisziplinen der European Studies vermittelt und gezielt auf den praktischen Umgang mit Europafragen vorbereitet. Die Studierenden erwerben dabei interdisziplinäres Wissen aus den folgenden Bereichen:

  • Die EU (EGen) als Rechtsgemeinschaft
  • Die EU als Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft
  • Die EU als politische Gemeinschaft
  • Historische, kulturelle und soziale Grundlagen des europäischen Integrationsprozesses


Internationale und interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung

Pro Studienjahr werden in Berlin 25 Fellows unter hoch qualifizierten Bewerbern aus ganz Europa ausgewählt. Sie werden von führenden Rechts-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlern der drei großen Berliner Universitäten sowie von hochrangigen Wissenschaftlern und Praktikern aus dem In- und Ausland unterrichtet. Die Unterrichtssprache ist Englisch. Für den erfolgreichen Abschluss des Studiums werden insgesamt 60 im europäischen Rahmen anrechenbare Leistungspunkte vergeben. Mit seiner internationalen und interdisziplinären Ausrichtung leistet der Studiengang einen wertvollen Beitrag zur verstärkten Präsenz von hervorragend ausgebildeten Nachwuchskräften in internationalen Organisationen.

Praxisbezug

  • Durch ein Praktikum bei Bundes- und Länderministerien, EU-Institutionen, deutschen Botschaften oder großen Wirtschaftsunternehmen erhalten die Fellows die Möglichkeit, den täglichen Umgang mit Europafragen zu erfahren und sich künftige attraktive Berufsfelder zu erschließen.
  • Seminare mit Praktikern aus der Europäischen Kommission und anderen europäischen und internationalen Einrichtungen und Institutionen
  • Vorträge von Wissenschaftlern und Praktikern zu aktuellen Fragen der europäischen Integration
  • Exkursion zu den EU-Institutionen in Brüssel und Luxemburg


Standort Berlin

Berlin als deutsche Hauptstadt und politisches wie kulturelles Zentrum an der Nahtstelle von Ost-, Mittel- und Westeuropa bietet besonders gute Voraussetzungen für die Durchführung des Postgraduierten-Studiengangs. Als besondere Standortvorteile sind zu nennen:

  • umfangreiche Bibliotheken und Dokumentationszentren;
  • Präsenz von:
  • Bundestag, Bundesrat und Bundesregierung
  • Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission
  • Spitzenverbänden aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Kultur
  • nationalen und internationalen Nichtregierungsorganisationen
  • Weiterbildungs- und Kontaktmöglichkeiten durch wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Netzwerke